Letter to me… from me

Sometimes I write things for this very nice online magazine and one of my colleagues there (who is now living it up in NYC studying publishing like a boss) wrote THIS letter to her younger self, filled with nuggets of advice she wishes she had known at the time. Inspired by this idea (as well as Baz Luhrman’s classic, Sunscreen), I am trying to take an objective look at my life and pen my current self a little missive from my (imagined) future self, dispensing the wisdom that I know deep down I should be following…

Dear Nicky,

It has come to my, well… your attention that while you are, admittedly, having a good ol’ time, you are also, on occasion, being lazy and cowardly. You are in a position in your life which you have never been in and probably never will be again (speaking, as I am,  from the future, I am an authority on this). You have youth, freedom, health and a team of wonderful people cheering you on. You could do ANYTHING. Oh, you’ve had a go at tango and swing dancing? What do you want, a biscuit? Please. Have adventures and experiences, grab opportunities, do something worthwhile, write things, read things, learn thing, stop looking at your ukulele and PLAY it!

Also, stop feeling guilty for having a good time, just because everyone else seems to have it figured out or at least knows what they want to be when they grow up,  don’t waste your valuable adventuring time worrying about what you’re going to do with your life. Before you know it,  you’ll have a proper job and when you want to look back at a thoroughly and delightfully misspent youth, all you’ll have to remember is worrying about the future and procrastinating on facebook.

In short, don’t miss out on things.  Your future you (um….me) will regret it… Your future you – I mean I – (will) want to tell hilarious and exciting anecdotes about your life, don’t deny her… you…me!

Coming from your future self and therefore with hindsight, this is good advice. So there!

Regards,
You/us…. Oh bugger it!

I urge you all to do the same and later we can all applaud ourselves for having lived the dream!

Leave a Reply

